Solstice In The Green.

IMG_3747
Alderley Edge, Cheshire. June 2016.

This week has been deep green and dripping, and I have had the unadulterated pleasure of spending most it beneath trees. I have woodland on my boots, under my nails, in my pockets, in my head: a busy quiet, a pattern of light, a relentless urge to grow.

I don’t think I’ll be craving sunshine and blue skies to celebrate the solstice this year, only more leaf litter to encourage my roots, more headspace to unfurl, more branches to catch birdsong and stray breezes. I think to fully celebrate the solstice I am going to be a little more like a tree.

Alderley Edge, Cheshire. June 2016.
Alderley Edge, Cheshire. June 2016.
Oak tree at Ludchurch, Back Forest, Staffordshire. June 2016.
Oak tree at Ludchurch, Back Forest, Staffordshire. June 2016.

For more worship of trees this solstice get yourself to Alderley Edge, an atmospheric piece of woodland steeped in stories, folklore and history, and brought to life by the wonderful and otherworldly Alan Garner.

Ludchurch (or Lud’s Church) is another sacred spot. A tree-filled, fern-rich, narrow-trailed space where, if you are very quiet, it is possible to hear the beating of its sandstone heart.

 

Leave a Reply

