Do I Change Like A River…

 Sunset on the River Dee. October 2015.
Sunset on the River Dee. October 2015.

“All of us, I believe, carry about in our heads places and landscapes we shall never forget because we have experienced such intensity of life there: places where, like the child that ‘feels its life in every limb’ in Wordsworth’s poem ‘We are seven’, our eyes have opened wider, and all our senses have somehow heightened. By way of returning the compliment, we accord these places that have given us such joy a special place in our memories and imaginations. They live on in us, wherever we may be, however far from them.”
Roger Deakin.

IMG_2687
A Labrador in his natural habitat.

Do I change like a river, widening and deepening, eddying back on myself sometimes, bursting my banks sometimes when there’s too much water, too much life in me, and sometimes dried up from lack of rain? Will the I that is me grow and widen and deepen? Or will I stagnate and become an arid riverbed? Will I allow people to dam me up and confine me to wall so that I flow only where they want? Will I allow them to turn me into a canal to use for they own purposes? Or will I make sure I flow freely, coursing my way through the land and ploughing a valley of my own?”

Aidan Chambers. This is All: The Pillow Book of Cordelia Kenn

IMG_2528

6 thoughts on “Do I Change Like A River…

      1. That’s exactly what I’ll do! His books have a strange pull on me. After finishing Waterlog I found myself checking the website for a wild swimming group in Chester. I love the River Dee but she’d be a harsh swimming mistress…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

