Undertow.

IMG_1093
Photo by @archaeologystudent.

…Sometimes the great bones of my life feel so heavy,

and all the tricks my body knows –

the opposable thumbs, the kneecaps, and the mind clicking and clicking-

don’t seem enough to carry me through this world

and I think: how I would like

to have wings –

blue ones –

ribbons of flame.

How I would like to open them, and rise

from the black rain water.

Excerpt from Mary Oliver’s poem ‘Spring Azures’.

6a00e54fcf7385883401a73e187581970d
Art Print by Jessie M. King.

And here’s a beautiful song for anyone else out there struggling against the undertow.

 

Jessie M. King’s Prints can be found here.

More wonderful Bear’s Den music can be found here.

Leave a Reply

